Five Days of Dancing

When Sue Sims of Poetry Space challenged me to write five poems in five days, I decided they should be about dancing…And here is the first:

No Dancing Shoes

Strong arms lift & hold me so my toes just touch
My mother’s knee.
I feel the rough stuff
Of her tweed skirt & giggle, wriggle, feet
Suddenly dancing.
My father whistles, capering, clapping beside us.
My little face breaks into smiles.
My mother laughs.

© Lizzie Ballagher

One thought on “Five Days of Dancing

Leave a Reply

